Women repeat as NAC Champs

The women’s soccer team’s 2011 season finally came to an upsetting end on Nov 12, as it was defeated 3-1 in the first round of the NCAA tournament against Amherst College.

At the end of the first half, Amherst was leading by a score of 3-0. However, 12 minutes into the second half, Courtney Chadburn got the Spartans back into the game, scoring on a ball from Kelsey Lenney. Unfortunately it was the Spartans only goal of the game.

Amherst outshot Castleton 29-8 in the game, while CSC Keeper Ericka Davis made 13 saves. Amherst goalie Allie Horwitz only made two saves.

On Thursday, Nov. 5, the Spartans defeated third-seeded Husson College in the North Atlantic Conference final game, winning the conference championship for the second year in a row.

 Chadburn was the hero again in the game as she scored the winning goal on a beautiful through pass from Hilary Cooke, which split the defenders. Chadburn gave it the perfect one-time touch to send it sailing into the back of the net.

This picture-perfect goal was just what was needed to give the Spartans the 1-0 victory to beat Husson. The Spartans had many opportunities to score, outshooting Husson 28-5. Husson goalie Jessica Poulin made seven saves in the game while Davis only had to make one save to get the victory.

The NAC All-Tournament team was announced, consisting of five players from Castleton; Davis, Sarah Ethier, Lenney, Kelly Tetreault and Chadburn, who received MVP honors for the tournament.

 Stephanie Huntley and Abby Wills from Colby Sawyer, Emily Girard and Veronica Hytner on New England College, and Amanda Gifford and Alexandra Laniewski from Husson were also on the team.

This season, the Spartans scored 71 goals against their opponents, while only allowing 15 goals on the entire season. This game ends their season at 17-5, making this their most successful season to date.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Remembering Brian Dagle
Next post Sports talk